Time To Reflect..

Wow, I can’t believe it has already been 6 weeks! In such a short amount of time, I’ve had the opportunity to learn everything there is to know about media. Considering we practically revolve around the media and utilise various forms of media every day, it was great to actually expand my knowledge about the media and study it in depth.

When I first got told I had to create and maintain a blog, I wasn’t that excited. For someone who had never blogged before, I knew it was going to be difficult to comprehend the actual concept of blogging. In fact, I was kind of dreading having to post a piece of text for others to read and essentially critique. As I began writing, drafting and posting more and more blogs it became apparent that it didn’t matter what others thought about my work because they were my own ideas and opinions.

During the past six weeks we have encountered a variety of different issues that the media raises. In week 2 we began with the role of the media and what aspects of the ‘media effects’ model were incorrect. In week 3 we were introduced to semiotics and we learned how to identify both the connotations and denotations of an image. In week 4 we discussed who exactly owns the media we use on a daily basis and whether it matters who controls it. In week 5 introduced to the concept of the ‘public sphere’ and discussed how the media contributes to the mediated public sphere. Finally, in week 6 we discussed privacy and surveillance and also examined the associated concerns.

Personally, I believe this experience has been a fantastic way to introduce Communication and Media Studies. Having to create blog posts based on each week’s topic and readings further assisted in understanding the content and the main issues or arguments associated with the media. Reading other people’s blogs has shown how everyone explores the different issues raised each week by expanding on the concepts given to us and expressing their own ideas and personal experiences. Undertaking BCM110 has also helped me fully grasp how much the media dictates and influences my life.

 

Leave a Reply

